The Holy Ghost Cemetery is located in the centre of Basingstoke, and can easily be reached on foot from Basingstoke Railway Station which forms one of the boundaries.
The main entrance is half way up Chapel Hill when leaving the town centre. The Postcode is RG21 5TB. There is enough hard standing for 3 cars in the Cemetery.
PLUS there are FIVE FREE WALKING GUIDES AVAILABLE FOR YOU TO DOWNLOAD!
Free access at all times.
The South View Conservation Group organise a regular programme of volunteer work parties in the Holy Ghost Cemetery, focusing on maintenance of the resource as an historical open space, conservation of the monuments and the special characteristics of this unique site.
The work parties take place between 10am and 12 noon on Saturday mornings on the SECOND SATURDAY IN THE MONTH, with the third Saturday as reserve in the event of bad weather.
South View Conservation Group Work
The work party dates in the cemetery are as follows: the reserve dates are in the event of bad weather.
April 09 [16 reserve]
May 14 [21 reserve]
June 11 [18 reserve]
There are no events in July and August
September 10 [17 reserve]
October 08 [15 reserve]
November 12 [19 reserve]
December 10 [17 reserve]
January 14 (21 reserve)
February 11 (18 reserve)
March 11 (18 reserve)
Pupils of all ages attending our local Schools and Colleges take an active interest in the Holy Ghost Cemetery and have incorporated historical and ecological aspects into their curriculum work.READ MORE [spacer size=”5″]
The Holy Ghost Cemetery has a fascinating history going back to 1208 and the reign of King John, but the fate of the Cemetery and the two Chapels has always been closely linked with Royal Patronage.
A school has been on the site since 1633. The school building was a half-timbered structure consisting of one large room situated on the foundation of the western tower of the original Holy Ghost Chapel, the remains of which can still be seen today. The schoolroom remained within the Chapel ruins until the Queen’s Free School opened in Worting Road in 1855. In 1937, work began on the successor to the Queen’s Free School, the Queen Mary’s Grammar School in Vyne Road, which was later to become The Vyne School.